Nominate a Professor

Nominate a Professor
Nominate Your Favorite Faculty Member for the
Distinguished Teaching Award

Honor that unforgettable faculty member and share your favorite classroom memories of how he or she inspired you -- submit a nomination for the Distinguished Teaching Award (DTA) today.

Sponsored by the Kent State Alumni Association, the DTA is the university’s most prestigious honor in teaching. The award is presented annually to three full-time faculty members who demonstrate extraordinary teaching in the classroom and a devotion to touching the lives of students. Qualified nominees include Kent State tenure track faculty who are currently employed by the university.

View a list of past DTA recipients here

Submit a nomination now! 

Eligibility requirements include:

1. A faculty member must have been on a full-time teaching contract at any Kent State University campus for a minimum of seven years, including the current academic year.

2. A faculty member must have taught at least one course in two of the three semesters during each of those seven academic years. (For purpose of the awards, summer sessions are considered one semester and the academic year extends from the beginning of fall semester through summer session of the following calendar year.)

3. Current Distinguished Teaching Award recipients, are not eligible.
View a list of past DTA recipients here.

You can nominate your favorite professor by visiting the online form.

Deadline for nominations is June 30, 2014

Congratulations to the 2013 Distinguished
Teaching Award (DTA) Recipients

These recipients were recognized at the University Teaching Council Conference
luncheon on Friday, Oct. 25, 2013. View photos from the event here.

Ann Abraham
Kent State at Ashtabula


Leslie Heaphy
Kent State at Stark


Catherine Leslie
Fashion Design &
Kent Campus


During the week of Oct. 7, the alumni association made surprise
visits to the recipient's classrooms
to present them the 2013 DTA.
We captured this moment on video!


Congratulations to all of our DTA finalists!
These faculty finalists were chosen from a group of more than 250 nominations. 

Lisa Audet, Speech Pathology & Audiology, Kent Campus
                        Rosemarie Bank, Theatre, Kent Campus                          
Irene Edge, Computer Technology, Ashtabula Campus
Jacqueline Marino, Journalism & Mass Communication, Kent Campus
  Deborah Smith, Philosophy, Kent Campus

Alumni Discount:

Photos: Kent State Day at Cedar Point

Kent State Day at Cedar Point
Kent State University, Kent State and KSU are registered trademarks and may not be used without permission.
© Kent State University Alumni Association, Williamson Alumni Center, PO Box 5190, Kent, Ohio, 44242