Home | Make a Difference | Nominate a Professor

Nominate a Professor

Nominate a Professor


Nominate Your Favorite Faculty Member for the 2017 Distinguished Teaching Award

Honor that unforgettable faculty member and share your favorite classroom memories of how he or she inspired you -- submit a nomination for the Distinguished Teaching Award (DTA) today.

Sponsored by the Kent State Alumni Association, the DTA is the university’s most prestigious honor in teaching. The award is presented annually to three full-time faculty members who demonstrate extraordinary teaching in the classroom and a devotion to touching the lives of students. Qualified nominees include Kent State tenure track faculty who are currently employed by the university.

View a list of past DTA recipients 

Eligibility requirements include:

1. A faculty member must have been on a full-time teaching contract at any Kent State University campus for a minimum of seven years, including the current academic year.

2. A faculty member must have taught at least one course in two of the three semesters during each of those seven academic years. (For purpose of the awards, summer sessions are considered one semester and the academic year extends from the beginning of fall semester through summer session of the following calendar year.)

3. Current Distinguished Teaching Award recipients, are not eligible.

View a list of past DTA recipients here.

You can nominate your favorite professor by visiting the online form.

Deadline for nominations is June 30, 2017.


Congratulations to the 2016 Distinguished
Teaching Award (DTA) Recipients

These recipients were recognized at the University Teaching Council Conference
luncheon on Friday, Oct. 21 , 2016. View photos of the surprise classroom visits.

Donald Gerbig Jr., Biological Sciences, Kent State Tuscarawas

Jan Leach, Journalism & Mass Communication,
Kent Campus


Colleen Novak, Biological Sciences, Kent Campus

Congratulations to All 2016 DTA Finalists

Christopher Blackwood, Biological Sciences
Mary Ann Devine, Foundations, Leadership & Administration
Stephen Gagola, Mathematical Science
Laurie Hines, Lifespan Development & Education Sciences
Natasha Levinson, Foundations, Leadership & Administration
Pamela Mitchell, Health Sciences
Timothy Scarnecchia, History 

Watch a Video of the Distinguished Teaching Award 50th Anniversary Luncheon

Alumni Discount:

Alumni Insurance Program:

Alumni Insurance Program
Kent State University, Kent State and KSU are registered trademarks and may not be used without permission.
© Kent State University Alumni Association, Center for Philanthropy & Alumni Engagement, PO Box 5190, Kent, Ohio, 44242